The Roentgen Medal 2010-2019

Every year a different one. Yet always someone who deserves it.

Foto vom Preisträger der Röntgenplakette 2019

Copyright: ESRF/Stef Cande


Francesco Sette (* 1957), Italy
Grenoble, FRA

Physicist. Outstanding research and pioneering achievements in the fi eld of inelastic X-ray scattering. Development of completely new technical solutions for high-energy and high-resolution spectroscopy of soft X-rays.


Franz Pfeiffer (*1972)
Kösching, GER

Physicist. Outstanding research in the field of X-ray imaging, in particular the pioneering development of phase-contrast imaging in computed tomography.


Henry Chapman (*1967 GBR)
Hamburg, GER

Physicist. Pioneering work in the fi eld of the application of X-ray lasers to determine the structure of biological macromolecules. He developed the concept of „diffraction before destruction“ where an intense X-ray freeelectron laser pulse gives rise to a pristine diffraction pattern of an object before its destruction by that pulse. This solves a serious limitation in X-ray structure determination by increasing the tolerable dose for highresolution imaging and crystallography by many thousands of times.


Michael Baumann (*1962)
Dresden, GER

Radiooncologist. Extraordinary achievements in the development of fractionation and translational research radiotherapy.


Sunil K. Sinha (*1939)
San Diego, USA

Physicist. Essential contributions to the characterization of the structure and dynamics of disordered matter and complex materials and interfaces by means of X-ray space.


Ada Yonath (*1939)
Rehovot, ISR

Biochemist. Development of methods for the crystallization of ribosomes to elucidate their structure down to the atomic level using the X-ray structure analysis. As a result, she was able to elucidate the mechanisms of action of more than 20 antibiotics. Nobel Prize for Chemistry in 2009.


Gillies McKenna (*1949)
Oxford, GBR

Radiooncologist. Fundamental research on effects of radiation on cancer cells and on mechanisms of resistance to radiation with the goal of sensitizing cells to radiation by blocking mechanisms that control cell survival. He has made fundamental studies on control mechanisms in the cell cycle of mammalia cells. Specifically he is interested in oncogenically activated signal transduction pathways that exert a radioprotective effect on tumor cells.


Gerhard van Kaick (*1935)
Heidelberg, GER

Radiologist. Outstanding achievements in particular in the field of Thorotrast research and the introduction of modern imaging procedures in oncological diagnostics.

Foto vom Preisträger der Röntgenplakette 2011


Andreas Bockisch (*1951)
Essen, GER

Nuclear Physician. Special merits for the introduction of positron emission tomography (PET / CT) in clinical diagnosis.

Foto vom Preisträger der Röntgenplakette 2010


Helmut Dosch (*1955)
Hamburg, GER

Physicist. Pioneering work on surface-sensitive X-ray scattering. He earned international recognition for his research into solid interfaces and nanomaterials using synchrotron radiation.